Will Star Wars: The Force Awakens Topple Avatar’s Box Office

The seventh installment in the Star Wars film series, The Force Awakens, is no doubt a powerhouse. Movie critics are raving whether or not it will wreck havoc at the box office. Avatar was officially released on December 18, 2009 and Star Wars Episode VII was released exactly six years later. Both films sports a nice production budget in excess of $200 million, English language, science fiction and a MPAA rating of PG-13. Both films were released for viewing in 2D, 3D and IMAX 3D.

Star Wars VII vs Avatar: Epic Box Office Battle of History

Avatar is the reigning champion with $2.788 billion followed by Titanic in second place with $2.186 billion. Both Avatar and Titanic were written and directed by Canadian filmmaker James Cameron. Aside from the highest grossing film of all time, Avatar was nominated for nine Academy Awards and won three. 20th Century Fox is expected to release three sequels to Avatar starting in December 2017.

The highest grossing Star Wars film to date, The Phantom Menace, was released on May 19, 1999. The Phantom Menace is ranked twentieth with $1.027 billion in sales. Star Wars: The Force Awakens was directed, co-produced and co-written by American director and producer J. J. Abrams. The Force Awakens is the first film in the Star Wars sequel trilogy and Walt Disney is expected to release the remaining two in the coming years.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens – $2.065 Billion

  • Total Box Office: $2.065 billion
  • Domestic Box Office: $935.910 million
  • Foreign Box Office: $1.129 billion
  • Production Budget: $200 million
  • Genre: Sci-Fi, Fantasy
  • MPAA Rating: PG-13
  • Running time: 2 hrs. 16 min.
  • Release Date: December 18, 2015
  • Directed by: J. J. Abrams
  • Produced by: Kathleen Kennedy, J. J. Abrams, Bryan Burk
  • Written by: Lawrence Kasdan, J. J. Abrams, Michael Arndt
  • Based on: Characters by George Lucas
  • Starring: Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, Max von Sydow
  • Music by: John Williams
  • Cinematography: Dan Mindel
  • Edited by: Mary Jo Markey, Maryann Brandon
  • Production Companies: Lucasfilm Ltd., Bad Robot Productions
  • Distributed by: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures / Buena Vista
  • Country: United States
  • Language: English

Avatar – $2.788 Billion

  • Total Box Office: $2.788 Billion
  • Domestic Box Office: $760.507 Million
  • Foreign Box Office: $2.027 Billion
  • Production Budget: $237 million
  • Genre: Sci-Fi, Adventure
  • MPAA Rating: PG-13
  • Running time: 2 hrs. 40 min.
  • Release Date: December 18, 2009 (US), December 17, 2009 (UK)
  • Directed by: James Cameron
  • Produced by: James Cameron, Jon Landau
  • Written by: James Cameron
  • Starring: Sam Worthington, Zoe Saldana, Stephen Lang, Michelle Rodriguez, Sigourney Weaver
  • Music by: James Horner
  • Cinematography: Mauro Fiore
  • Edited by: James Cameron, John Refoua, Stephen E. Rivkin
  • Production Companies: Lightstorm Entertainment, Dune Entertainment, Ingenious Film Partners
  • Distributed by: 20th Century Fox
  • Country: United States, United Kingdom
  • Language: English
  • Awards: Nine Oscar nominations, Three Wins